Urban Waters Learning Network: Training a Green Infrastructure Workforce

Dec
8
Tuesday, 12/08/2015
10:00am PST/1:00pm EST - 11:00am PST/2:00pm EST

Event Info

This webinar is part of the Urban Waters Learning Network webinar series.

As cities increasingly recognize the value of green infrastructure practices for managing stormwater, there is a growing demand for a skilled workforce that can install, inspect and maintain projects such as rain gardens and vegetated swales. At the same time, there are thousands of individuals in our communities looking for work. Join us for this hour-long session to learn about two projects that are working to simultaneously address both these needs in their communities – their structure, their partnerships, their successes and their challenges.

In this session:

  • Eli Allen and Hye Yeong Kwon will share their organizations’ partnership to create a certification-based stormwater training track that connects underserved residents with careers in the emerging stormwater industry. Civic Works’ Baltimore Center for Green Careers is a workforce development program focused on expanding access to jobs in the green economy for Baltimore residents with barriers to employment. This effort is part of the Center for Watershed Protection’s national Clean Water Certification and Workforce Development Program.
  • Glen Abrams will share the Pennsylvania Horticultural Society’s (PHS) experience partnering with a local AmeriCorps program, the City of Philadelphia, the City of Chester and others to encourage the development of green stormwater infrastructure (GSI) practices, increase local capacity to implement and maintain GSI and utilize sustainable land care practices by providing training to three target audiences: municipal employees, under‐skilled landscape laborers and at-risk youth.

Cost: Free

Presenters: Eli Allen, Director of Retrofit Baltimore (Civic Works); Hye Yeong Kwon, Executive Director (Center for Watershed Protection); Glen Abrams, Director of Sustainable Communities (Pennsylvania Horticultural Society)

RSVP for River Network Webinars

    If you would like to RSVP for more than one session, please resubmit this form for each registration.
  • Access information for the webinar will be emailed to this address.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.