2020 Award Recipients

All too frequently, individuals and groups involved with natural resource conservation fail to celebrate their hard-won successes. Too often, important victories are allowed to be overshadowed by the next issue or threat. Challenges always lie ahead, but we need to take time each year to celebrate our achievements and the people who make them possible.

Stream the 2020 Awards Panel on Facebook.

River Heroes

River Heroes are nominated annually by their peers, selected by peers, and celebrate with peers at our annual River Rally. With this award, we recognize individuals who bring people together to solve water problems, seek solutions that are inclusive and equitable, go “above & beyond,” never give up, and inspire and help others to make a difference.
Learn more >

2019 Compton Award winner, Mark Van Putten, President and CEO of Wege Foundation

Compton Award

In 2001, to celebrate his dedication to conserving our nation’s rivers, River Network created an award in honor of James “Jim” Compton.
Learn more >

Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award recipient is honored at a celebratory banquet during River Network’s annual conference, River Rally.
Learn more >