State Revolving Funds Resources

To join the SRF State Advocacy Forum, reach out to Sheyda Esnaashari, Drinking Water Program Director, at sesnaashari@rivernetwork.org

The Clean Water and Drinking Water State Revolving Funds (SRFs) form the largest source of federal funding for water infrastructure. The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) allocated historic levels to both SRFs.   

SRF Program Basics 

Funding Green Infrastructure  

Addressing Affordability & Equity  

Leveraging SRFs through Partnerships 

Technical Assistance  

  • Pro Bono Capacity-Building Technical Assistance Program – Environmental Protection Network offers pro bono assistance to communities and non-profits to translate regulator processes into lay language, advice on navigating regulatory or grants programs, connecting groups to others in EPN’s network, and identifying contacts at regulatory agencies.  
  • Drinking Water 1-2-3 Technical Assistance program – Metropolitan Planning Council offers technical assistance and on-the-ground implementation of best practices in drinking water management. 

EPA Regional Contacts for SRF Section Chiefs

Region SRF Section Chief SRF Section Chief Email
1 Mark Spinale spinale.mark@epa.gov
2 Aisha Sexton-Sims sexton-sims.aisha@epa.gov
3 Jeff Boylan boylan.jeffrey@epa.gov
4 Johnnie Purify purify.johnnie@epa.gov
5 Steve Marquardt marquardt.steve@epa.gov
6 Denise Hamilton hamilton.denise@epa.gov
7 Glenn Curtis, Branch Chief curtis.glenn@epa.gov
8 Benjamin (Ben) Bents, Branch Chief, Technical and Financial Services bents.benjamin@epa.gov
9 Lily Lee lee.lily@epa.gov
10 Karen Burgess, Section Chief burgess.karen@epa.gov

To learn about the full range of programs funded through the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) please see the IIJA resource page. 

Resource Materials